Writer’s Block

ME: Hey I should really write a blog post about this thing, or this movie, or this idea I had, or maybe a book review.

ALSO ME: I never have anything to write about!

I don’t know what’s going on in my brain lately. I’ll constantly get ideas about things that I’d like to write, but the second I get some free time in front of my laptop… I just got nothing. I’ll think of an idea that would make for a decent article that I could post on here and use as a sample for when I’m applying for writing jobs, or like good trending topics that would maybe serve as good SEO material and attract new readers to the blog, or even just like an issue that I feel like I could wrestle with through writing and maybe challenge people to think differently or encourage a discussion that would change my view on the topic… but then when I get my wordpress open I just end up typing “Well life’s been kinda boring lately” and that’s all I got.

I think part of it has a bit to do with how I manage my time and also how I manage stress. I love my job, but things lately have been stressful enough that I’m debating looking for something new. And when I get home after an emotionally tiring/stressful day, it’s really hard to do something mentally engaging or that requires any level of creativity.

I’ve been really into the new Assassin’s Creed game lately (Odyssey! It’s ancient Greek themed and it’s really really cool) but there have been a few evenings where I’ll get home from work and turn on the playstation, and before I know it, it’s bed time. I don’t want to waste all my evenings like that but I really don’t have great ways to unwind after a frustrating and long day.

As I write this post, a few of the things I wanted to talk about have come back up in my brain. I want to talk about the different social media platforms and why they are all kind of bad right now. I want to talk about a couple of podcast ideas I had. I want to talk about an idea I heard on Red Letter Media’s recent Godzilla review about how End Game is “the last true blockbuster” in the sense that no movie will ever get the hype up to that degree ever again (I could make a case for and against that idea). I also really want to talk about Assassin’s Creed Odyssey once I finish the game.

So stay tuned and hopefully I will actually have a less foggy brain next time I try to write something!

Leave a comment