Summer Fun vs Student Debt

So lately I feel like life has been a little boring and I had this idea that this summer I would try to go out and do more stuff just to have some more fun, maybe meet some new people, and get my social media popping again. I was making big plans and had some fun ideas… but then this morning I checked my bank account.

Folks, let me tell you something about student debt… it stinks. 5 years ago, I was completely debt free. But I decided to go back to university and some bad luck, some bad timing, and a couple of bad decisions has led me to a point where I’ve got some serious debt. I wouldn’t say I am deeply in debt but I’m definitely in debt enough where I feel it. Out of my monthly income, I’d say about 40% goes to bills, 40% to debt payments, and that only leaves 20% for gas and food and fun.

I have to dedicate the summer to saving and making money… But that doesn’t mean I can’t also have some fun right? So for the next three months, I’ve decided I’m going to try to do one fun/new thing that costs under $10. I’m going to explore the city and areas nearby that I can go to that will cost less than $10 in gas to get there. I’m going to try reconnecting to friends I haven’t seen in a while, visit parks I haven’t been to, and attend free events around the city.

I was recently talking to a girl I have a bit of a crush on and she asked, “How was your weekend? Did you do anything fun?” and I had nothing to tell her and I felt so boring. I’m going to change that this summer. If you have any suggestions of fun on a budget, then hit the comments!

Leave a comment