COVID Part 4: The Worst Week Yet

Folks, I’m not going to lie. This past week was one of the worst weeks of my life and I really need to vent.

I think I’ve mentioned this in earlier posts, but since this pandemic started to hit here my work has been constantly in flux. At first we were shut down, then we were asked to volunteer at home care, now we’re being forced to do home care or lose our jobs. I went from working 0 days a week, to 3 half-days, and then this past week I had 4 full time days (with Monday off for a holiday). Normally I wouldn’t complain too much about this, but work has been extra stressful with the pandemic. We aren’t allowed to leave the homes unless we’re going for a walk (which my one client refuses to do) and there are a lot of stir-crazy individuals who don’t quite understand what is going on who are getting upset that we aren’t taking them to regular activities. I was supposed to have Thursday off but a coworker called in sick so I got called in and I had no activities prepared to do for the day and that particular client is starting to get really tired and bored of me and… yeah. It was a rough week.

But that’s not all. I got an email from the university that told me that because a couple of my electives were transfer credits from my first degree that were older than 10 years, I might not be able to graduate after all. I’m sure I’ve posted about the drama with my degree before but this is the 3rd time I thought I’d be able to graduate only to have something change. The university told me I had to submit an appeal (which I did, no response yet) but the stress of that email really just put my mood into a downward spiral.

I’ve also been getting hit hard with loneliness lately. Not being able to see my friends is rough but also like… I really miss talking to girls. I’m not a big fan of texting and I really don’t like phone calls. Like I miss talking to cute coworkers or smiling at cute girls on buses and stuff like that. One girl I had been texting with has kinda been ignoring me lately so I think that’s done and… yeah.

Whatever. I know these problems aren’t like awful but it does make every day feel like a struggle. And having a lot of simple pleasures denied by the quarantine does make it worse. I’m not one of those “END THE QUARANTINE NOW!” types but man I need a change.

Leave a comment