Assassin’s Creeds and British Repo Shows

Whats up piiiimps. That was a weird intro, oh well too late to change it at this point.

Lately, I’ve been trying to save money so I’ve been spending more nights at home. Instead of writing, working out, watching movies off of my ever-expanding list, or doing anything remotely productive, I’ve been really hooked on playing the new Assassin’s Creed.

Assassin’s Creed Odyssey is possibly one of the best games I’ve played in recent years. The play style is fun, the story and the characters are interesting and well written, and the world is so beautiful and fleshed out and really cool to explore. I got the platinum on it (meaning I finished the game and got every achievement in the game), pumping in over 130 hours (spaced out over the past two months), and still want to keep playing it. It takes place in Ancient Greece and gets a lot of the historical info right and blends in the mythology in a fun way. It’s stirred up this real curiosity in me to learn more about Greece and Sparta and all that stuff.

However, while playing the game, there are large parts where I’m just running or fighting where I can listen or sort of half-watch something else. You know… multitasking. I started on youtube with my normal channels I follow. Then I started getting recommended these frozen food reviews by this dude brutalmoose who is pretty fun and does really funny editing. Then inexplicably I started getting a recommended a whole bunch of British reality shows. And not like Love Island or British Kitchen Nightmares. No, all the ones I’ve been getting are based around the theme of going broke. There is Nightmare Tenants and Slumlord Landlords about people who don’t pay rent and won’t leave or landlords who screw their tenants over. Can’t Pay Well Take It Away is about British High Court bailiffs who go into people’s houses and just start taking stuff until they get enough to pay off whatever debt the person owes. Call The Sheriff which is basically the same thing except focused more on the person who the money is owed to. Nightmare Neighbours which is just stories of people who get in fights with their neighbours and then have to move. Then also The Housing Enforcers and Scrappers UK but I haven’t actually watched either of those ones yet. The whole theme of these shows is just like… crippling financial worries and how the UK might be a horrible place to live? The people in these shows keep getting jerked around, the police never help, and if you owe somebody money they can pay to take it to the High Court which doesn’t even have to give an eviction notice.

I don’t actually like watching these shows but the youtube algorithm has been so weird lately in that once it starts recommending me a certain type of video, it completely fills my recommended with those videos. Also I find that I often associate a game with a certain show or youtube channel and until I’m actually done playing that game, it just feels natural to also keep watching that show.

I’ve been really wanting to start writing more so hopefully I can do that this week. And maybe spend a little less time exploring ancient greece while watching poor people cry while fat British dudes steal their stuff with government authority.

Leave a comment